October Newsletter


It's the most wonderful time of the yeeaaarrrr!!!


As a horror author this is my favourite season, not just because everyone loves horror books doubly as much at this time but because it's MY season! The season where what I write is acceptable... mostly.

But before we skip ahead to talking about all the awesome things happening in October, let's talk about the awesome things that happened in September!!!!



Comic-Con Africa 2019



Comic-Con is my favourite event of the year. It's a time I get to market my books, check out some amazing artists and writers, hang out with the coolest fans but I also get to by myself A LOT of awesome presents for a year's worth of hard work. Okay, so this year I went a bit overboard! If you check out my facebook album in the group you'll see I may have bought... a few... pops and stuff. A FEW!!!!!!!


From day one to day four I had an absolute blast, sharing a stall next to my #AuthorBestie Toni Cox and my best friend Darren Cox as well as having two of the most amazing assistants ever! We had a blast, we laughed, we cried, we cried because we were laughing so hard. By the end of Comic-Con I was completely bushed and had no regrets.


Some of my highlights of Con included meeting Author Dani Rene! Being on my first ever panel where I got to discuss the joys of writing and what I do as an author. Seeing Ashleigh Giannocarro at her first Comic-Con as an author where she was signing with Jason Hes. Hanging out with all the talented authors and of course, the pops!


Meeting Dani Rene for the first time

Our stalls!

Buried Book Launch


Buried books featured at Skoobs, Montecasino

On Friday, 27th September, we all joined evil forces and ransacked Skoobs Theatre of Books at Montecasino for a Pre-Launch party for Buried! It was an absolute success and I'm really happy with the turnout. So many wonderful old friends, and new ones turned up to help me celebrate my best book baby! For those of you who couldn't make it, it was live-streamed on my reader group so feel free to go watch it so you too can be a part of the magic!


A special SPECIAL thanks to the following people who made my book launch an absolute dream come true.

Jackie - Because this literally wouldn't have happened without you! Thank you for being my #1 fan and greatest support structure.

Toni - Thanks for always having my back #AuthorBestie and for putting in so much effort as MC of the evening.

Jamie & Wendy - Thanks for the photos and live streaming the event!

Skoobs - Thanks for letting us host there

Jann - Who doesn't do horror but showed up early to help set up and then read from my book for me.

Kim - For being so supportive, always, and for featuring me and live streaming via Tango with Text.

Deborah - For the warm welcome and awesome questions.

Darren - For packing, loading, dropping off, lifting, packing up and doing everything in between! I appreciate your help, friendship and muscles so much!


A special thanks to everyone who attended. You had some really interesting questions to ask and your support means the world to me. And of course, there was the traditional tequila which is always fun.


Talking about Buried - It's ALMOST TIME!


Yup! It's almost time for Buried to be released to the masses! We are counting down the days until October 15th, and I know a few people who are currently SCREAMING for the book! I cannot wait for you to read it! It is simply amazing.

If you haven't already, you can pre-order your copy via Amazon, Nook, Kobo or Itunes! BUT WAIT... THERE IS MORE...

Pre-Order your copy and you can enter one of my amazing competitions where you can win a ton of fun stuff!



For US Residents Only

Want to stand a chance to win some cool horror related products? US Residents only!!! Enter now!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9d41853c5/?



UK Residents Only

Want to stand a chance to win some cool horror related products? UK Residents only!!! Enter now!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9d41853c6/?



Open to UK; US and SA Residents Only

Need a new Kindle Fire 7 7” tablet? Win one today! Open to UK, US and SA residents. Enter now!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9d41853c4/?



Open Internationally

Looking for some book money to buy your next great read? Stand a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card! Open Internationally.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9d41853c3/?


So what now?

Well, now we continue! I continue to put my everything into my writing and deliver the best stories that I can come up with. This year certainly hasn't been an easy one but I am proud of how far I have come from where I was and I'm super excited for Hex and Merry Meow to be published along with some super-secret projects that are coming out soon. I have so many amazing stories lined up for the next three years that I don't think I need to worry about running out of ideas because my brain just churns them out like butter apparently!


One thing I will note that I struggle with is getting reviews! I cannot stress how important reviews are to independently published authors like myself. It's how we get on the map, it's how new readers discover us and I know a hell of a lot of people have read my book. If you could take ten minutes and write a review it would be appreciated so much!


That being said I'm going to leave you guys with a few book recommendations as well as some great giveaways to look out for.


Recommended Books



A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from a meme

After graduating high school Abby returns to Harmony Springs, her spiritual home. She plans to reconnect with friends, take one college class over the summer—and of course resume her magical studies.

But life in central Florida is not as peaceful as she hoped. Nightmares and visions torment her: a weird castle, an armored ghost, a giant white frog devouring people. When a girl is murdered on campus and a picture of the same white frog found beside the body, Abby knows it’s not just her problem, but the world’s. An evil entity is loose, fed by occult forces, spreading rage and hate.

Abby’s guides say it’s her duty to fight this monster. But can she discover the power to banish the white frog and its master? Or will she become their next victim?

Ghosts of Lock Tower is the third book of The Abby Renshaw Supernatural Mysteries. If you like tales of ghosts, psychic mystery, and magic, you will love this series.


Get it here-> https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WG96T5M


As a slave, Clara's life extends no further than the castle kitchens and their garden. However, she carries within herself a precious gift: the ability to see the future. When a vision prompts her to prevent a murder, Clara is shoved not only into the intrigues of the nobility but also into a civil war. As events unfold, she begins to unearth chilling secrets about the war and her supposed friends. Driven to learn the truth, Clara embarks on a journey that takes her from her beloved mountains to the very Capital itself, Bertrand. There, she is confronted by an evil as old as the mountains--and it's using her anger and prejudices against her. If she is not careful, not only will the entire nation be lost, but Clara's own soul as well.


Get It here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/giveaways/a988e43a-6997-11e8-85ae-33c44177f372



The students at the Academy of the Forsaken keep winding up dead. The thing no one can figure out though is how on earth is a human serial killer disposing of demons and angels so easily?

First-year demon, Eureka Belvedere, finds herself stuck in the middle of the otherworldly murders, and if she's going to survive, she needs to learn how to use her powers.

This Kindle short story is a YA paranormal thriller about demons, angels, and what it's like being the new girl at school where students are dropping like flies!

The Demon in the Mirror is perfect for fans of Harry PotterThe Dark Artifices, and The Black Mage.


Get it here -> https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VW3Y194



A Flash Of Horror is a collection of short and flash fiction from my two collections Heads & Tales and Undressed. 12 chilling and though-provoking tales that will stay with you for nights to come. Are you ready to delve into the dark side?


Get it here-> https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XP8C5L6



Rookie archeological agent Jonathan Jarl is on his first mission to retrieve a stolen, priceless artifact but a megalomaniac corporate leader does everything in his power to stop him. At the same time, something alien is found in space and it is heading for Earth. "An exciting story of a future world, world domination and those who stand and fight against evil." - Goodreads Thirty years from now, in a dystopian future, the Earth is under strain due to natural disasters and accelerating pollution. On the coast of Madagascar, a ruthless corporate leader creates his own vision of the future in the shape of Tabula Rasa, a mega-complex inhabited by over a million people. Jonathan Jarl, a rookie agent for the Amber group, is on his first assignment and is assigned to retrieve the famous Nebra Sky disc that has been stolen. During the mission, he is faced with some of Tabula Rasas darkest secrets. Meanwhile, in orbit around the moon, a discovery is made that has potential implications for the entire human race but Tabula Rasa is doing everything in its powers to keep the discovery secret. In a lab within Tabula Rasa, an idealistic scientist decides to share the discovery with the world. She takes a fateful decision that puts her life on the line. Jonathan is thrown into a breakneck race for time and Tabula Rasa is the first science fiction adventure thriller about Jonathan Jarl and the Amber group.


Get it here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/giveaways/1ea1b06c-aa42-11e9-b643-cbb85d1e4d9d


This Months Giveaways


Check out this giveaway here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/to/Yz9lnPc



Check out this giveaway here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/to/dqEvstI



Check out this giveaway here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/to/QFYOS9cW



Check out this giveaway here -> https://storyoriginapp.com/to/EGlD2xc



Check out this giveaway here -> https://claims.prolificworks.com/gg/XJKrQJ10EheHAOT62TYz



Check out this giveaway here -> https://claims.prolificworks.com/gg/CaQfSE0TJGm5WK6YLuK0



Check out this giveaway -> https://claims.prolificworks.com/gg/pQscUfGT9MnkTY8VGxMY

Well, that's it from me, nightmares! I hope you're all super excited for the released of Buried! Don't forget to join my group Nightmares & Spacehikers on Facebook to keep up to date with everything that's going on. Have a happy Halloween and stay safe!


Always lock your door!


Sian B. Claven

1 view
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Goodreads
  • Amazon

© 2017 Sian B Claven.

Don't Miss Out on Anything